Dear anxiety

You are the resounding voice in my headYou are that silent whisperThe screamsThat keep telling me about me.What I should do,Where I should go.But what if I tell you I enjoyed your embrace while you were at it.You sang me every night to bed.You let me soak up my pillow in tears,You watched me as I tossed and turned in bed with no sleep,Yet your song still resounding every night.You made me a slave to your comfort.My curtain drawn,My eyes deep in an abyss of sin,My heart broken to the last piece,My soul empty and broken.Yet you still told me I’m fine.I made an attempt to love,To chase happiness,To embrace joy and satisfactionBut you made it seem so comfortable running back to your arms.You made me doubt myself,My loved ones,And even everything the Holy book said as well as my heart.Why the hurt?Why the pain?Why the rejection?And yet you made me believe you were my best place.My place to call home.I walk down the path to you,Yet each time,A new thorn in my flesh,A new bruise,A new scar,A new crack in my fragile heart.But I still held on to you.And even on my near last breathe, you were my amazing grace.But why are you so mean,Yet so calm,Why are you so silent,Yet so loud?They say the grave is the richest place,But do they mean it as the best way to peace and happiness?Why does death have to be the way out?Why can’t I just be like everyone who says life is Gucci, you only live once and you only die once?Yet I die every single day,Sometimes even every minute of the day.I know where love is,Or rather I think I do?But I know what love is,I feel it so close,Yet so far.A soul is lost every day,A heart broken every day,A life destroyed everyday,Tears shed everyday.But you are still growing everyday.Depression is the order of the day.Pain in dosesYet, we are told, life is never that serious..But am I joking?Am I a joke?I’m lost.I’m broken.I’m weak.But still I guess I’m needed to be strong..Right?~ The voice of every hurting soul.

Everyday, we are introduced to self doubt. In the same energy, most of us if not all don’t get a person to walk us out of it. Depression is real in our society, anxiety is a real issue affecting both the young and old. We sweep issues under the rags and move on with life. We easily forget that we are human beings, we crave love, affection and affirmation even to the smallest level. The journey towards healing begins with us, we are in charge of ourselves and those around us. Be kind a little more, be a little more loving, be a little more sensitive . You could be the person who tosses the dice on whether a person ties the rope or not. You never know who needs you to be human, but just be human always. There’s already too much pressure to be a certain way!

Love, Lorna

2 Replies to “Dear anxiety”

Leave a comment